Northwestern Medicine Pulmonologist Receives Prestigious 2019 Trudeau Medal

Northwestern Medicine
Pulmonology July 02, 2019


Jacob Sznajder joins an elite group of physicians selected for this award

Jacob Sznajder, MD, an established pulmonologist and critical care medicine specialist, was honored with the Edward Livingston Trudeau Medal from the American Thoracic Society (ATS) in Dallas, TX. The Edward Livingston Trudeau Medal recognizes lifelong major contributions to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education or clinical care. This award is given in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association. Only one clinician is awarded this prestigious honor annually. 

“I’m honored and humbled to accept this award from the ATS, which has been a home for me as a physician scientist for more than 30 years,” said Sznajder. “This acknowledgement isn’t about the work that I’ve done over my tenure with Northwestern Medicine, rather the many contributions we’ve done together to move the needle in respiratory care and for that I’m very thankful.”

Sznajder began his career with Northwestern Medicine as the chief of pulmonary and critical care medicine in 1999. At the time, the division had seven faculty members and five fellows, but grew exponentially to 40 full-time faculty members and 25 fellows supporting the division’s clinical operations and research portfolio. 

After stepping down from the position in 2016 to focus on new research programs at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, he continued to work on a multi-project research program focused on the pathogenesis of acute lung injury. The program was funded by the NIH’s National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute since 2002. Over the course of his career, he is most proud of his research to better understand the mechanisms of lung injury and repair as well as the effects of hypercapnia on the lungs. 

He has also been committed to mentoring the next generation of physician scientists. Currently, he is the Northwestern University Lung Sciences Training Program (NULSTP) co-director alongside Karen Ridge, PhD, which encourages bright, enthusiastic, well trained, academically oriented MDs and PhDs to pursue a career in Pulmonary Biology investigation. 
The Trudeau medal was first awarded in 1926 to Theobald Smith, MD, in honor of the late Edward Livingston Trudeau. The medal of honor recognizes a physician’s contributions to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease, and exemplary professionalism. 

“It’s an honor to recognize the achievements of the awardees here today,” said Polly Parsons, MD, ATS President. “Each year at the ATS international conference, clinicians and scientists come together from around the world to learn about the most leading-edge treatments and research. With these awards, we recognize some of those who have devoted their careers to bringing us such breakthroughs through their work in their labs and with their patients.” 

The medal was awarded to Sznajder on May 19 to a pack house of distinguished pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine professionals from around the world. 
Check out these NM Care Areas:

You Might Also Like: