White Coat Ceremony Inducts High School Students into Northwestern Medicine Scholars Program

Northwestern Medicine
For Students May 11, 2012

Northwestern Medicine Scholars ProgramThere are many characteristics that symbolize a physician, but no tangible item distinguishes a doctor more than their white coat. On Tuesday, May 8, six young students from Westinghouse College Prep on Chicago’s west side received honorary white coats at the Northwestern Medicine® Scholars Program induction ceremony.

The program, which spans the students’ high school tenure, offers students a head start on careers in medicine through live surgery broadcasts, mentoring, lectures, tours and other hands-on learning experiences. Dennis Murphy, executive vice president and chief operating officer at Northwestern Memorial, Clyde Yancy, MD, chief of the division of cardiology and associate director of the Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute, and Dr. Janice Jackson, principal at Westinghouse, welcomed the high school freshman, their families, and leaders of Northwestern Memorial Hospital and Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine while giving the students a glimpse of what’s to come in the next four years as they embark on their journey as a Northwestern Medicine® Scholar.

“It only takes one of you to make a difference, but all six of you can change the world with your talents,” said Yancy. “We hope to help jumpstart your training while you’re here at Northwestern.”

Erica E. Marsh, MD, reproductive endocrinologist at Northwestern Memorial, and co-founder of the Scholars Program, and Nathaniel Soper, MD, chair of the department of surgery at Northwestern Memorial, presented the second class of Scholars with their white coats.

“Congratulations, you are now a part of the Northwestern family and we look forward to having you,” said Soper as he and Marsh introduced the students. “As a physician, I can personally tell you that it is a wonderful way to spend your life.”

The students aspire to become oncologists, cardiologists, neurosurgeons, and researchers. The 2015 class of Northwestern Medicine® Scholars include: Erin Chen, Ashley Ohiku, Aaliyah Boose, Iridian Guzman, Rong Qiu and Pragya Jha.

Jha, who was described by her teachers as a conscientious learner with big dreams and a quiet determination, plans to pursue a career in neurosurgery.

“I’m excited about the opportunity to experience clinical life and learn from doctors’ expertise,” said Jha.

The unique partnership between Northwestern Medicine® and Westinghouse College Prep was recently highlighted in a video showcasing the students’ first distance learning opportunity. Learn more about the Northwestern Medicine® Scholars Program at Westinghouse College Prep.