Northwestern Medicine

The Women's Board of Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital Auxiliary Awards Academic Scholarships

Lake Forest Hospital July 01, 2010

The Women’s Board of Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital Auxiliary recently granted its annual academic health care scholarships to 40 students who are pursuing health care-related education. Each year, the Board selects winners on the basis of criteria such as outstanding academic achievement and exceptional promise in the field of health care. Many of this year’s recipients are Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital nurses who are continuing their education.

LAKE FOREST, IL – The Board awarded a $5,000 Marion Warner Hodgkins Scholarship, a $3,000 Helen Dick Bronson Scholarship and 38 A.B. Dick Jr. scholarships, ranging from $500 to $1,500 each. The scholarships are supported through the fundraising efforts of the Women’s Board.

“It is a great honor for the Women’s Board to support these scholarships,” says Laura Johnson, Chair of the Scholarship Committee. “This year’s winners are a very impressive group of people. Through their diverse interests, they will continue to make a positive impact in both the health care field and the world around them.”

This year’s Marion Warner Hodgkins Scholarship, named for the first president of the Women’s Board, was awarded to Ryan McQuillen of Lake Bluff. McQuillen is a graduate of Lake Forest High School and of Colorado State University, where he majored in Biomedical Engineering. McQuillen worked at Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital as a surgical support technician, which helped him decide that he wanted to become a surgeon. He earned his bachelor’s degree in biomedical sciences from Rosalind Franklin University and is working towards his master’s in health care administration while attending medical school.

The Helen Dick Bronson Scholarship was established in 2009 in memory of A.B. Dick’s daughter, who served an unprecedented 60 years on the Women’s Board. The award is now given annually to one employee of Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital whose position involves direct patient contact, who shows exceptional talent and promise and who has been employed at the hospital for at least one year. This year’s winner was Christine Somberg, BSN, RNC, of Deerfield. Chris currently serves as clinical nurse educator for the women's center and for pediatric inpatient services. She has enjoyed serving in a variety of other roles during her 22 years as an employee of the hospital. Through Purdue University, she is pursuing a Master of Science in Nursing and an advanced practice nursing role as a clinical nurse specialist in women's health.

This year, 38 people were awarded the scholarships named in honor of A.B. Dick Jr., the former chairman of the Board of Directors whose family donated the land for the hospital. The recipients were:

  • Barrie Anderson-Gwinn, Lake Zurich
  • Marc Angerame, Arlington Heights
  • Rohangiz Ayrempour, Lake Forest
  • Amy Barnard, Kenosha, WI
  • Amy Bauer, Buffalo Grove
  • Kathryn Bro, Lake Bluff
  • Taylor Campbell, Beach Park
  • Anna Maria Demir, Northbrook
  • Robin Flory, Gurnee
  • Kaitlin Fox, Antioch
  • Linsey Fox, Antioch
  • Bailey Frew, Waukegan
  • Alyssa Fuggiti, Gurnee
  • Peggy Funk, Grayslake
  • Hannah Garrett, Lake Forest
  • Amanda Goldberg, Vernon Hills
  • Kimberly Hanson, Mundelein
  • Lindsey Jackovich, Beach Park
  • Julie Jacobs, Lake Bluff
  • Kathirene Klein, Downers Grove
  • Christine Knoerr, Lake Forest
  • Maryam Lopez, Vernon Hills
  • Briana Lyjak, Grayslake
  • John McAdory, Zion
  • Angela Melchor, Park City
  • Nicole Mitchell, Lake Forest
  • Kelsey Moutvic, Lake Forest
  • Nancy Nozicka, Green Oaks
  • Margarita Ogren, Island Lake
  • Jacquelyn Rognstad, Antioch
  • Noelle Schillinger, Libertyville
  • Katie Schrems, Vernon Hills
  • Mary Schultz, Grayslake
  • Mary Kate Smyrniotis, Chicago
  • Cathy Spagnoli, Buffalo Grove
  • Mindy Tanski, Des Plaines
  • Jonathan Touhy, Park City
  • Megan Wright, McHenry

Media Contact

Media Relations