Primary CNS Lymphoma

Primary CNS Lymphoma starts in the CNS. It affects areas near the brain like the spinal cord, spinal fluid and the eyes. It can also affect the brain itself where the CNS is.

Types of primary CNS lymphoma:

  • Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL)
  • Low grade lymphomas
  • Primary vitreoretinal lymphoma (PVRL), also called primary intraocular lymphoma
  • T-cell lymphoma

Primary Vitreoretinal Lymphoma

Primary Vitreoretinal Lymphoma (PVRL) affects the eyes and starts inside your eye. These cancers are usually high-grade lymphomas such as diffuse large B-cell lymphoma or T-cell lymphomas. Unlike other systemic lymphomas, PVRL rarely involves other parts of the body beyond the CNS and eyes. However, there it can spread to the nervous system.

Secondary CNS Lymphoma

Secondary CNS lymphoma occurs when lymphoma spreads to the CNS from other parts of the body. Types:

  • Diffuse large-B cell lymphoma
  • Follicular Lymphoma
  • Burkitt’s lymphoma
  • Lymphoblastic lymphoma